ARTISTS-IN-RESIDENCE

Caroline Achaintre_Fantômas-installation view_De La Warr Pavilion_2018_Photo Rob Harris_4
Caroline Achaintre, Fantômas, installation view, De La Warr Pavilion, 2018. Photo Rob Harris. Ceramic work made during a residency at West Dean College.

 

*Opportunity* West Dean College and the De La Warr Pavilion invite artists to submit proposals for a residency to mark the centenary of the Bauhaus. The selected artist will spend three-weeks in residence at West Dean which will be followed by a solo exhibition in the first floor gallery at the DLWP. The opportunity comes with a £2500 artists fee. Deadline 16th September 2018. For more details and to apply online please visit the West Dean College website

About the Visual Arts residency programme:

The history of West Dean College is steeped in innovative creative practice. Its founder, Edward James, was an influential figure in the British Surrealist movement and a major patron of numerous artists and writers, including Salvador Dalí, René Magritte, Leonora Carrington and John Betjeman. Since his estate was bequeathed to the Edward James Foundation in 1964, West Dean College has formed the core of one of the greatest private legacies supporting the arts in the world.

The West Dean residencies are awarded for a period of three weeks and are located within the Visual Arts Department. As well as full board and lodging, residents are given access to the grounds and the award-winning West Dean Gardens. Residents are also provided with studio space, access to skilled technical support and a range of specialist workshops, as well as other learning resources such as the library and computer suite.

Artists in Residence enrich the creative learning environment of the college by providing support to full-time graduate and postgraduate students, including a presentation on their practice and an account of the work produced during the time spent at West Dean. The amount of time expected to be allocated to these activities is equivalent to one day per week.

Residents are select via Open Call opportunities and in collaboration with partner institutions such as Cass Sculpture Foundation and the De La Warr Pavilion.

Previous residents include:

Tamara Henderson (Cass Projects 2018): Rodeo website

Ross Taylor (2018)www.ross-taylor.info 

Katie Schwab (2018):  www.katieschwab.com

Caroline Achaintre (DLWP 2017):  carolineachaintre.com

Gabrielle Beveridge (2017): www.gabrielebeveridge.com 

Florence Peake (Cass Projects 2017): www.florencepeake.com

Yelena Popova (2017): www.yelenapopova.co.uk

Poppy Jones (2016): www.poppy-jones.co.uk

Mineral Supplements (Cass Projects 2016): www.sculpture.org.uk

Christine Mills (2016): www.arts.wales

Rose O’Gallivan (2015): www.roseogallivan.co.uk

 

Blue Firth (2015)bluefirth.com

George Charman (2014)www.george-charman.co.uk

Freya Pocklington (2014)www.freyapocklington.com

Melanie Jackson (2009): www.melaniejackson.net

Chloe Steele (2008):  www.chloesteele.com

Thorbjorn Andersen (2007): www.thorbjornandersen.com

Meekyoung Shin (2004): meekyoungshin.com/